MINUTES

Staff Senate January 16, 2025 12:00 p.m.

North End Center 2420 and zoom; virginiatech.zoom.us/j/89618402157

Present: LaTawnya Burleson (presiding), Misti Acosta, Benjamin Alden, Jasmine Boyd for Kristen Cox, Angel Carter, Zai Cook, Denise Crawford, Alma DeLeon, Pat Donovan, Kari Evans, Nikki Gland-Turpin, Joseph Goodman, Amber Hagan, Amanda Hill, Wendy Hodge, Amy Ingram, Frank Kerr, Sarah Owen, Amie Pendleton, Amanda Pester for Brian Huddleston, Gabe Petry, Jennifer Pike, Michelle Raines, Amber Robinson, Sally Shupe, Mary Sullivan, Chris Whitlock, and Serena Young.

Absent: Robert Cooley, Andrea Green, Dee Hopkins, Petie Martin, Ron Mecham, Dennie Munson, Eric Newton, Stephanie Picado, Sasha Simpkins, Eric Tysor, and Christina Winkeler.

Guests: Diane Bonsall, Allison Hamborsky, Sammi Kent, Michele Loy, Annie Machner, April Myers, Mark Nichols, Phoebe Peterson, Alicia Pierce, Amber Pifer, Dee Dee Somervell, and Chenaye Woods.

President Burleson called the meeting to order at 12:04 p.m. A quorum was not present until 12:33 p.m.

1. Agenda

2. Announcement of approval and posting of minutes of November 21, 2024.

President Burleson noted that these minutes have been voted on electronically and can be publicly accessed on the Governance Website: governance.vt.edu

3. Unfinished Business

No unfinished business.

4. New Business

No new business.

5. Presentation

Mark Nichols, Senior Director of Universal Design and Accessible Technologies at TLOS, discussed the updated Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act legislation, also known as part H, which requires all web content, mobile apps, and communications to be accessible. The legislation aligns with the international WCAG 2.1 AA standards and sets a compliance deadline of April 24, 2026. Mr. Nichols highlighted the importance of using built-in accessibility checkers in Microsoft products to improve content accessibility. He mentioned the formation of the Title II Working Group at the university, established in response to the need for a coordinated effort to meet the scope of the Title II regulation. The group, led by executive sponsors Dr. Cyril Clark and Amy Sebring, includes project leaders Dr. Kelly Oaks and Dale Pike, and group convener Dr. Scott Chandler. The working group was tasked with interpreting the regulations, identifying the scope and impact at Virginia Tech,

developing a compliance timeline, determining resource needs, and recommending communication strategies. The group also formed five subcommittees focused on specific topics such as training, communication, web apps, teaching, and inclusive media. The current state at Virginia Tech was discussed, with a focus on inventorying existing technology resources and identifying critical needs for the next fiscal cycle.

6. Other Items

President Burleson announced the departure of two hardworking staff senators, Tasia Persson and Callan Bartel, who have accepted A/P faculty positions within the university. A unanimous vote elected Amber Hagan as new Vice President for Staff Senate and Gabe Petry will assume Tasia's role as Chair of the Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Belonging Committee.

7. Announcements

The next Staff Senate meeting is February 20, 2025 at 12:00 p.m. An Outlook calendar invite will be sent out prior to the meeting.

8. Adjournment

There being no further business, a motion was made to adjourn the meeting at 12:57 p.m.