Staff Senate Meeting Minutes May 16, 2024 12:00 p.m. North End Center 2470 or via Zoom: virginiatech.zoom.us/j/89618402157

Present: LaTawnya Burleson (presiding), Saadia Ali, Callan Bartel, Lisa Bishop, Denise Crawford, Pat Donovan, Kari Evans, Joseph Goodman, Amanda Hill, Amy Ingram, Katrina Lockhart-Elfeky, Petie Martin, Jamie McElfresh, Sarah Owen, Tasia Persson, Gabe Petry, Amber Robinson, Sally Shupe, Becki Smith, Tamarah Smith, Chris Whitlock, Christina Winkeler, and Serena Young.

Absent with Notice: Nikki Gland-Turpin, Michelle Raines, and Mary Sullivan.

Absent: Zai Cook, Robin Cooley, Kristen Cox, Dee Hopkins, Tracy Jones, Frank Kerr, Amy Linkous, Ron Mecham, Dennie Munson, Janet Murphy, Eric Newton, Amie Pendleton, Erika Perdue, Jasmine Phillips, Jennifer Pike, Judy Taylor, Eric Tysor, and Marty Wyatt.

Guests: Benjamin Alden, Andrea Green, Alene Harris, Robena Hughes, Lynn Margheim, Brandy McCoy, April Myers, Amanda Pester, Reese Ramos, Dee Dee Somervell, Johnny Underwood, and John Warner.

President Burleson called the meeting to order at 12:01 p.m. A quorum was present.

1. Adoption of Agenda

The agenda was adopted.

2. Announcement of approval and posting of minutes of April 18, 2024

President Burleson noted that these minutes have been voted on electronically and can be publicly accessed on the Governance Information System on the web (<u>http://www.governance.vt.edu</u>).

3. Presentation

Reese Ramos, University Ombudsman, gave a presentation on ways in which his office can assist staff in conflict resolution and mediation. The best method to contact him is to email <u>Ombuds@vt.edu</u> or call 540-231-3125.

4. <u>Unfinished Business</u>

CSPA Resolution 2023-24B

Resolution to Form a Task Force to Review Supplement Program for Eligible Staff and Compensation for Staff and Non-Student Wage Employees

Vice President Bartel presented the resolution for second reading. A motion was made, seconded, and the resolution passed unanimously.

5. Other Items

- Vice President Bartel presented the Staff Recognition award to Sarah Fasco. The winning nomination is attached.
- President Burleson thanked Judy Taylor, chair of the Staff Senate's Elections and Nominations Committee, for her service to Virginia Tech and Staff Senate. Ms. Taylor will be retiring from Virginia Tech on June 1, 2024.

6. Announcements

The June Staff Senate meeting will begin at 12:00 p.m. and the guest will be President Sands. The meeting will be hybrid, with the in-person component meeting in North End Center, Room 2420. An Outlook calendar invite will be sent out prior to the meeting.

7. Adjournment

There being no further business, President Burleson adjourned the meeting at 12:52 p.m.